Too Much On My Plate: De-stressing through food

There is one story that my sister will never stop telling, and it is of when she came home late one night to find me standing in the kitchen, in the dark, separating egg yolks from whites. When she asked me what I was doing, I simply responded, “I’m releasing my pent-up anxiety.” Now, I don’t remember how serious I was when I said that, but I can’t say it was a complete lie. Apparently my sister found it strangely hilarious, and now that I think about it, I guess it is.

This also brings me to finals week of some high school year when I got so stressed, I had to bake a cake. What? If you are wondering how on earth a student can bake cakes the day before finals, don’t ask me, because I don’t know what was going through my head either–it certainly isn’t the case now. I suppose it’s good enough that I passed.

But while I don’t bake cakes during finals anymore, I still find food an excellent medium for releasing stress and unwinding. I partake more often in consuming food than making it nowadays, but all the same–there is something about food that makes boiling away your stress and eating away your feelings surprisingly satisfying and relaxing. Everyone does it–they eat ice cream when they’re depressed and make cakes when they’re happy (okay, maybe not). How do you deal with pent-up feelings? Does food help you unleash your worries?

Leave a Reply

